Our Wonderful Visitors

By Keppy

Since I want you guys to know a little more about me, I thought I would show/tell you what I like to do this time of year.

Every March, about this time, we get some wonderful visitors that come through central Nebraska by the hundred thousands. Sandhill CranesSandhill Cranes

We also have some endangered Whooping Cranes that stop by here as well.

Whooping cranes

I volunteer at the Iain Nicolson Audubon Center at Rowe Sanctuary (let’s just call it Rowe because if I have to type that long title again…) and it’s something I’m really going to miss this year.

rowe sanc

At Rowe, they have a lot of volunteers who come from a lot of different places to help out from March to about mid-April and it’s like a big family reunion. The volunteers help with everything from answering phones to leading blind tours in the morning and evenings.

rowe tour

There are also five staff members who work their butts off during crane season (we all do) and they’re also really awesome.

They also have a crane cam set up on the sanctuary property so that those people who live on the moon (or other places) can still see the cranes without having to travel here. It’s pretty cool. I’m going to put the link at the bottom of the page and you should totally go check them out sometime.

 

Rowe Sanctuary Website Link: http://rowe.audubon.org/

Crane Cam Link: http://www.ustream.tv/channel/rowe-sanctuary-s-crane-cam

OR

http://rowe.audubon.org/birds/crane-cam

Also, if the crane cam moves randomly, it’s supposed to do that. It just pans when nobody is controlling it 🙂

One comment

  1. Best wishes, Special K.
    I am proud of you. I’ll be waiting for you at the Delaware Water Gap with M&M’s!

    Like

Leave a comment