An Update

October 5th, 2016

Hello everybody. Some of you may know that I hurt my foot coming down Mt. Washington in the White Mountains. I’m just here to update you all on how it’s going with the foot.

On Monday, October 3rd, I hiked a mile with Aunt Karen, Mom, Carroll, and Willa. After a mile of hiking, my foot hurt badly enough that I didn’t want to continue on.

Just so you are all prepared for it in case this happens, I might not be able to finish the hike this year. That would only mean that I would not break the record for the youngest solo Thru hiker. And I would come back and do the rest of it next summer.

Mom told me this morning that I needed to look up the rules for being a thru hiker, so that maybe we could come back and finish it, or get enough done so that I could still be considered a thru hiker. The Appalachian Trail Conservancy has a certificate for 2,000 milers that requires you to have hiked the whole Trail in 12 months.

When it comes down to it, it doesn’t really matter what anybody else thinks of my accomplishment. It doesn’t matter if the ATC says I’m not a thru hiker just because I don’t conform to their idea of a thru hiker. In case you guys haven’t realized, I don’t really make a big effort to conform to societal expectations. If I believe that I’m a thru hiker than it doesn’t matter what anybody else thinks. You can take the hiker away from the Trail but you can’t take the Trail out of the hiker.

Bye for now!

img_20160923_165435

On top of Mt. Washington

7 comments

  1. Keppy,

    You are so right to separate the “formal” ATC or AT community designation of a thru-hiker and the broader definition and the experience itself. Folks who have done the trail over two years or many years have still done the entire trail, which is a major accomplishment. Your efforts, with the support of your family and many friends, is exceptional and will be a lifelong memory. It’s also experiential education all the way!

    Reuben and Meg Rajala

    Like

  2. Hi Special K,

    I think a whole lot of your accomplishment! The Trail teaches us lessons, and right now it’s just letting you know to take care of yourself and come on back when your foot catches up with your determined spirit. You are a thru-hiker. You’re just still on your journey! Everyone I know that’s hiked the AT (and I know many) has a different story to tell. Why they started, challenges along the way, what they learned… Thru hiking isn’t about a time table or rules, it’s about an experience of the heart. For me, being a thru hiker is about the spirit of a hiker, and you no doubt have that inside you! Rest well, kick that foot up to rest, and you’ll be back to the trail. I have no doubt!

    Like

  3. My family arrived at your blog by way of Jarful of Stories. We (including children ages 6,5,3,&1) have been reading the blog and following the map. I have such fond memories of time spent in the White Mountains and a night spent at Lakes of the Clouds Hut. Yours is a great adventure and we hope for more updates as soon as your foot has healed.

    Like

Leave a comment