Vermont

I am no longer in Massachusetts because I am in Vermont! I crossed the border on August 31, doing a 20 mile day over Mt. Greylock, the tallest mountain in Massachusetts. It was a long day and it was just barely dark by the time I got to the shelter. Vermont is known for having lots of mud and I now believe it. I was greeted by mud. Welcome to Vermont, here’s some mud!

IMG_20160831_183142.jpg

Yes, the Long Trail joins with the AT for 105 miles. Some of the people hiking the LT are pretty novice.

While in Massachusetts, we had a bit of drama that included me having to walk almost a mile out on a dirt road to be picked up. In the dark, by myself, with no cell service. But don’t worry, everything was fine and Mom and I connected eventually. Cell reception is getting a bit spotty now. We know that up in Maine and New Hampshire it will be much, much worse.

We also got to see one of Mom’s old teachers, Dennis Farley and his wife Barbara. Mom has lots of stories about having Dennis as a teacher.

Other than that, I don’t think much else happened. Just the usual problems with our ancient camper. I wonder how much the Smithsonian Museum would pay us for that monstrousity. Kidding!

Well that’s it for now…

Leave a comment