Q&A with Keppy


Q&A interview with Keppy recorded on June 20, 2016 while driving on the Blue Ridge Parkway, Thunder Ridge parking area, Blue Ridge Parkway, milepost 74.7 in Virginia.


INTERVIEWER: You’re going on a four-day hike. That’s longer than usual. What is different about a four-day hike than the usual two or three-day hikes?

KEPPY: It will just be a little longer than normal. That’s about it.

Keppy and Carroll
Keppy and Carroll

INTERVIEWER: What kind of preparations will you do differently?

KEPPY: I just have to carry more food. That’s about the only difference. I also need more pages from AWOL (the guidebook) so I know where I’m going.

INTERVIEWER: Do you have to prepare yourself to be away from your family for an extended amount of time?

KEPPY: Hm, not really. I just have to prepare myself to stop being lazy — and actually hike.

INTERVIEWER: How do you stay motivated to hike?

KEPPY: When I get back to the camper there will be hot food waiting for me and I can take a hot shower and get some clean laundry. It’s like going to town, which keeps most of the other hikers motivated.

INTERVIEWER: So you’re saying that you hate the outdoors, that you detest nature and you’d like to cut down all the trees?

KEPPY: No-o-o-o, Dad. I’m not the Once-ler, you know, from “The Lorax” by Dr. Seuss! You know, the guy who cuts down all the Truffula Trees? “I am the Lorax, I speak for the trees!”

View from the Blue Ridge Parkway
View from the Blue Ridge Parkway

INTERVIEWER: What do you think about when you’re hiking?

KEPPY: I usually think about what the next shelter will be like and if I’ll know anybody there.

INTERVIEWER: Tell me something beautiful you’ve seen recently?

KEPPY: In the last week? I was up on McAffe Knob (Catawba Mountain, elevation 3,197 ft.) a couple days ago and that was pretty cool. I could see for a long ways.

INTERVIEWER: When you’re up there to you stop and look around or just keep walking?

KEPPY: I usually stop and look.

INTERVIEWER: Have you made friends on the trail?

KEPPY: Yeah.

INTERVIEWER: Anybody your own age?

KEPPY: Nope.

2 comments

  1. Hi Keppy,
    I am a friend of your Grandmother Gloria. We go to church together at the Jupiter SDA Church in Jupiter, Florida. I have been following your progress and praying for You and Your Family. I am very impressed by your courage and determination. I admire Your Family’s support and love for each other. I am also from a very loving and supportive family and believe that is one of God’s greatest gifts. I’m sure you have met a lot of wonderful people on the trail and made some lasting friendships. I know many of them are inspired by you as I am also. You are a special person.
    On August 24th I am leaving for France and Spain to hike the Camino De Santiago. It is a 500 mile hike which is a fraction of what you have walked but I am very excited and somewhat apprehensive since I really don’t know what to expect and do not speak the language in either country. Like you did I have been training for months and preparing the best I can but I’m sure to meet some unexpected challenges along the way. My cousin and I will be traveling together and do not know anyone else who will be on the trail. We’re both retired, she’s a more experienced hiker than I am. We will need a lot if prayers.
    I’m cheering for you and looking forward to reading more about you and your family. Your Mother is a good writer. Maybe you and your Family will write a book about your experience. I’m sure it would be a best seller especially among other Hiker’s. Keep up the good work and I’ll be praying for you
    God Bless.

    Like

Leave a comment